Posted by: dragonflyoutinthesun | January 22, 2010

“You have to do your own growing no matter how tall your grandfather was.” [Abraham Lincoln]

No one said that growing up is so hard, nobody warned me about what’s coming, no one said Ok, now you’d better put your helmet on cause it’s gonna be a bumpy ride! And I’m not talking about school or getting a job, it’s not about the growing up as in being over 18 and having responsibilities etc, I’m talking about what goes on inside, about all the questions, about growing up as a human being. I wish somebody made a brochure: Growing-up for newbies. Maybe no one wrote one because nobody really grew up, maybe we’re all in the process of growing up and that’s bad news. That means that this torment will never stop, I’ll never get to the next level, I’ll just leave the impression that I have, because I’ll have grey hair and I’ll be considered wise and by that time I won’t tell my advisees what’s gonna come ‘cause no one’s told me and cause that’s how the world spins. So, let’s make a club or let’s have something like the AA meetings cause I’m sure there are a lot of us who would need these meetings, about 6,5 billion of us. I know these meetings wouldn’t help me answer my questions, like why am I here, what is here exactly, it wouldn’t help me cope with the too many events that take place around me, it wouldn’t help me figure out how we work, why so many people are hurting and what’s the purpose of all the drama we see around us-for that I’d probably be advised to go to church-. But maybe we’ll make the world a better place just by admitting that we are all in the never-ending process of the growing up and we’ll try to grow up together and maybe that will bring us together ‘cause religion, music or love don’t really seem to do the job. So, what do you say? Shall we make the world an easier place to live in?
“The day the child realizes that all adults are imperfect, he becomes an adolescent; the day he forgives them, he becomes an adult; the day he forgives himself, he becomes wise” [Alden Nowlan]

Leave a Reply

Categories

